Securely erasing a disk drive

Use this action to remove all data on a hard drive and to ensure that the data is unrecoverable. Secure erase writes fixed and random data across the drive in multiple passes, ensuring that the data is truly erased.

 Note: Secure erase is a lengthy operation. It is run as a background task. If you reboot the system, the operation resumes from where it left off.

  1. In the Physical devices view, click online physical drive (online physical drive).

  2. Right-click Secure erase.

  3. Click Yes to confirm.

More information


Glossary | Contents

 

x-0429-SRM-00-20-EN